As a user, I want to be warned, if the action I am taking may have unforeseen consequences, such as deleting or overwriting an existing column.
In data prep, columns need to have unique names. Selecting an already existing name triggers the warning.
The user rename a column using a name that is already existing and a warning is displayed
The warning disappears, as soon as the user picks a unique name
The warning appears contextually and it spans the width of the column
Warning text: A column with the same name already exists. Pick a new name, or click “Apply” to overwrite.
Clicking [Apply] overwrites the existing column
Clicking [Cancel] will not change the name of the column.
if the button is only seen when the column name is an existing column name (i.e. it goes away after the column name is changed), then let's call the button "Overwrite" instead of "Apply".
Click "Overwrite" to overwrite? Is it becoming redundant?