Renaming a column to an existing column should show a warning to users

Description

As a user, I want to be warned, if the action I am taking may have unforeseen consequences, such as deleting or overwriting an existing column.
In data prep, columns need to have unique names. Selecting an already existing name triggers the warning.

Acceptance Criteria

  • The user rename a column using a name that is already existing and a warning is displayed

  • The warning disappears, as soon as the user picks a unique name

  • The warning appears contextually and it spans the width of the column

  • Warning text: A column with the same name already exists. Pick a new name, or click “Apply” to overwrite.

  • Clicking [Apply] overwrites the existing column

  • Clicking [Cancel] will not change the name of the column.

Release Notes

None

Activity

Show:
Bhooshan Mogal
April 26, 2017, 5:52 AM

if the button is only seen when the column name is an existing column name (i.e. it goes away after the column name is changed), then let's call the button "Overwrite" instead of "Apply".

Ajai Narayanan
April 27, 2017, 4:37 PM
Ajai Narayanan
April 27, 2017, 4:43 PM

Click "Overwrite" to overwrite? Is it becoming redundant?

Bhooshan Mogal
April 29, 2017, 6:37 AM

Merged PR

Fixed

Assignee

Ajai Narayanan

Reporter

Bhooshan Mogal

Labels

Docs Impact

None

UX Impact

None

Components

Sprint

None

Fix versions

Affects versions

Priority

Major